Cister, Cister, Cisternae

SISTER//CISTER?

Cisternae is the name of my sisters, but we are so close they are practically a part of me. (They actually are a part of me.) I usually have four to eight sisters depending on my unicellular house, but when I am in single-celled houses I could have sixty sisters. They are made of matrix proteins, but we are all made of cytoplasmic microtubules. In each house I notice three types of personalities (3 types of cisternae). The sisters who are nearest to the Endoplasmic Reticulum, I call them “cis“, the sisters who are near my center, “medial“, and finally, and the sisters who are far away from the ER, “trans“. 

xoxo your one and only, GOLGI

cisternae_maturation_ model

Cister, Cister, Cisternae

Leave a Reply

